
REA 3009 (Rev 10/01/2016) page 1 of 2

REQUEST FOR TEMPORARY PRACTICE PERMIT

1. Application Level ( Mark one box only )

2. Name To Appear On Permit
Last First Middle

3. Business Name		

4. Mailing Address (Address of Record)						    

5. State(s) Currently Licensed	 6. Expiration Date(s)	7. Business Telephone Number	 8. Residence Telephone Number

9. Social Security / Taxpayer ID Number	 10. Driver’s License Number	 11. Date of Birth

Address

City County		               State	                            Zip Code

12. Current or Expired California Real Estate Appraiser’s License 

   None		    Yes				  
License Number

APPLICANT INFORMATION

I certify under penalty of perjury that the foregoing information, and information provided on all attachments, is true and correct and that I have 
answered each question fully and truthfully and without any purpose of evasion. I understand that providing false information is grounds for denial or 
revocation of any permit and may subject me to disciplinary action and/or criminal prosecution. If I receive a permit, I will adhere to the Real Estate 
Appraisers’ Licensing and Ceritificaton Law.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Signature											           Date

BREA USE ONLY

�� Type or print clearly in blue or black ink and provide an original signature.
�� All fees paid must be paid by pre-printed personal check, company check, cashier’s check, certified 

check, money order, or credit card (see form REA 2030 to pay by credit card).
�� By statute, all fees submitted are deemed earned upon receipt and cannot be refunded.
�� All out-of-state addresses require a completed and notarized Consent to Service of Process (REA 3006). 

 

�� Please refer to http://www.brea.ca.gov/html/LicensingFees.html for current license 
application fees. 

�� If you have any questions, please write to the address listed or call (916) 552-9000.
�� Mail completed application, fee and qualifying documentation to:

	 BUREAU OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
	 1102 Q Street, Suite 4100
	 Sacramento, CA 95811

State

   Residential License	 $80

Non-complex one-to-four residential units having 
a transaction value less than $1,000,000 and 

complex one-to-four residential units having a 
transaction value less than $250,000.

   Certified Residential	 $80

1 - 4 residential units, without regard to value 
or  complexity.

   Certified General	 $80

All types of real property.

   Check this box if you are currently serving or have ever served in the United States military (Please submit proof of current or former military service).
   Check this box if you are married to, or are in a domestic partnership or other legal union with an active member of the United States military assigned to 

active duty in California (Please submit proof of marriage, domestic partnership, or other legal union with an active member of the military). 
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1. 	 APPLICATION LEVEL - Mark the box for the permit you wish 
issued.  Your license from the issuing state or territory must equal or 
exceed the level for which you are applying. 

2. 	 NAME  - Your name.

3. 	 BUSINESS NAME - The name of your business or employer name.  
Information required is a matter of public record. 

4. 	 MAILING ADDRESS - Your address of record. 
Information required is a matter of public record. 

5. 	 STATE(S) CURRENTLY LICENSED - The state or states in which 
you currently hold a real estate appraisal license.

6.	 EXPIRATION DATE(S) - The expiration date(s) of your current license(s).

7. 	 BUSINESS TELEPHONE NUMBER - Your business telephone 
number.  Information required is a matter of public record. 

8. 	 RESIDENCE TELEPHONE NUMBER - Your home telephone number. 

9.   SOCIAL SECURITY / TAXPAYER IDENTIFICATION 
NUMBER - Enter your social security or individual taxpayer 
identification number. BREA cannot issue a permit without a Social 
Security or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number.

10. DRIVER’S LICENSE NUMBER - Your driver’s license number and 
the state of issuance. 

11. 	DATE OF BIRTH - Your date of birth. (mm/dd/yyyy)

12. 	PREVIOUS CALIFORNIA APPRAISER LICENSE - Indicate if you 
have ever held a California appraiser license. If the answer is “yes”,  list 
the license number. 

	 SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT - Original signature and date required.

 

	 Privacy Information

Section 1798.17 of the Civil Code requires this notice be provided when 
collecting personal or confidential information from individuals. Each 
individual has the right to review personal information maintained by 
this Agency, unless access is exempted by law.

Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers
Custodian of Records
1102 Q Street, Suite 4100
Sacramento, CA 95811
Telephone: (916) 552-9000

General powers of the Chief, Sections 11310 and 11313 of the Business 
and Professions Code authorizes the maintenance of this information. 
Business and Professions Code Section 30, Chapter 1361, Section 1, 
requires each real estate appraiser licensee to initially provide to the 
Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers his or her social security number 
or individual taxpayer identification number which will be furnished 
to the Franchise Tax Board. Your social security number or individual 
taxpayer identification number shall not be deemed a public record and 
shall not be open to the public for inspection. The Franchise Tax Board 
will use your number to establish identification exclusively for tax 
purposes. The Real Estate Appraisers Law or Regulations of the Chief 
require applicants to provide the Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers with 
specific information. If all or any part of the required information is 
not provided, processing may be delayed. In addition, the Chief may 
suspend or revoke a license, or in the case of a license applicant, may 
deny the issuance for misstatements of facts (including a failure to 
disclose a material fact) in an application for a license. The information 
requested in this form is primarily used to furnish license status 
information to the Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers, and to answer 
inquiries and give information to the public on license status, mailing 
addresses and actions taken to deny, revoke, restrict or suspend licenses 
for cause. This information may be transferred to real estate appraisal 
licensing agencies in other states, law enforcement agencies (City 
Police, Sheriff’s Departments, District Attorneys, Attorney General, 
F.B.I.), and any other regulatory agencies (including , but not limited 
to,  Department of Business Oversight, Department of Insurance, 
Bureau of Real Estate, Department of Consumer Affairs, California Bar 
Association, Appraisal Subcommittee).

INSTRUCTIONS

Please remember to include a Consent to Service Process Form (REA 3006) along with this application.
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