
REAL ESTATE APPRAISER LICENSE LEVELS 

The Bureau offers four levels of real estate appraiser licensing in California. Each license 

level has specific education, experience, and scope of practice requirements as 

established by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) and California state mandates. 

A. Trainee License (AT) 

1. Scope of Practice: Any property which the supervising appraiser is qualified 

to appraise. 

2. Education: A minimum of 75 hours of basic/qualifying education of real 

estate appraisal. 

3. Experience: No experience is required as a prerequisite.  

B. Residential License (AL) 

1. Scope of Practice: Any non-complex one to four family properties with a 

transaction value up to $1 million and non-residential property up to $250,000. 

2. Education: A minimum of 150 hours of basic/qualifying education of real 

estate appraisal. 

3. Experience: A minimum of 1,000 hours over no less than 6 months of 

acceptable appraisal experience. 

C. Certified Residential License (AR) 

1. Scope of Practice: Any one to four family properties regardless of the 

transaction value or complexity and non-residential property up to $250,000. 

2. Education: College level education (see Section 2, II, D. located on Page 10 

of this handbook) and a minimum of 200 hours of basic/qualifying education 

of real estate appraisal. 

3. Experience: A minimum of 1,500 hours over no less than 12 months of 

acceptable appraisal experience. 

 

D. Certified General License (AG) 

4. Scope of Practice: All types of real estate properties regardless of the 

transaction value or complexity.   

5. Education: A bachelor’s degree or higher and a minimum of 300 hours of 

basic/qualifying education of real estate appraisal. 



6. Experience: A minimum of 3,000 hours over no less than 18 months of 

acceptable appraisal experience with at least 1500 hours in non-residential 

appraisals. 

 

License 
Levels  Education Requirements*  Experience 

Requirements  
Scope of 
Practice  

Trainee (AT)  75 hours, covering specific modules 
including the 15-hour National USPAP 
Course (or its equivalent as determined 
by the Appraiser Qualifications Board 
(AQB).  
  

All initial Trainee applicants must also 
complete the following approved 
courses prior to obtaining a license: 

• Supervisory/Trainee Appraisers 
course.  

• California state and federal laws 
course. 

• Cultural Competency 

None  Any property 
which the 
supervising 
appraiser is 
permitted to 
appraise.  

Residential 
(AL)  

150 hours, covering specific modules 
including the 15-hour National USPAP 
Course (or its equivalent as determined 
by the AQB).  
  

All initial and reciprocal applicants must 
also complete the following approved 
courses prior to obtaining a license: 

• California state and federal laws 
course. 

• Cultural Competency 

1,000 hours 
and 
encompassing 
no less than 6 
months of 
acceptable 
appraisal 
experience.  

Any non-
complex 1-4 
family property 
with a 
transaction value 
up to $1 million; 
and non-
residential 
property with a 
transaction value 
up to $250,000.  

Certified 
Residential 
(AR)  

200 hours, covering specific modules, 
including the 15-hour National USPAP 
Course; and meeting the criteria of one 
of the options listed in the next table 
labeled “College Level Education 
Options for Certified Residential”.  
  

1,500 hours 
and 
encompassing 
no less than 12 
months of 
acceptable 
appraisal 
experience.  

Any 1-4 family 
property without 
regard to 
transaction value 
or complexity; 
and non-
residential 
property with a 

http://www.appraisalfoundation.org/imis/TAF/Standards/Qualification_Criteria/Qualification_Criteria__RP_/TAF/AQB_RPAQC.aspx?hkey=5ec61b8d-751b-4a97-90b1-9b3dae51beea


All initial and reciprocal applicants must 
also complete the following approved 
courses prior to obtaining a license: 

• California state and federal laws 
course. 

• Cultural Competency 

transaction value 
up to $250,000.  

Certified 
General 
(AG)  

300 hours, covering specific modules, 
including the 15-hour National USPAP 
Course; and a Bachelor's degree or 
higher from an accredited college or 
university.  
  

All initial and reciprocal applicants must 
also complete the following approved 
courses prior to obtaining a license: 

• California state and federal laws 
course. 

• Cultural Competency 

3,000 hours 
and 
encompassing 
no less than 18 
months of 
acceptable 
appraisal 
experience, of 
which 1,500 
hours must be 
non-
residential.  

All real estate 
without regard to 
transaction value 
or complexity. 
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