BECOME AN APPRAISER TRAINEE

SCOPE OF PRACTICE

Any property which the supervising appraiser is permitted to appraise under direct,

personal, and diligent supervision of supervisory appraiser(s).

REQUIREMENTS

A. Age
18 years of age or older

B. Qualifying Education

1. A minimum of 75 hours of basic/qualifying education of real estate appraisal.

= Basic Appraisal Principles 30 Hours
= Basic Appraisal Procedures 30 Hours
» National USPAP Course (or its equivalent) 15 Hours
C. Additional California Education Requirements
1. AQB/BREA approved Supervisor/Trainee Appraiser course 4 Hours
2. AQB/BREA approved Cultural Competency course 1 Hour
3. BREA approved Laws and Regulations course 4 Hours

All qualifying and additional California education must be completed within the five (5)
year period immediately preceding the date of application for a Trainee Appraiser

credential.

D. Experience
No experience is required as a prerequisite. Applicants must work under a Supervisor

Appraiser (Certified Credentials) meeting the Supervisory Appraiser Requirements to

gain experience.

E. Background


https://dcao365.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/sites/DCA-BREA-TM-Admin-and-Licensing/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B8E936345-4937-4AF1-A2B2-B8A4F8AE7C97%7D&file=General%20Experience%20Criteria.docx&action=default&mobileredirect=true

1. California residing applicants must submit electronic fingerprint via California
Department of Justice, and applicants residing outside of California must submit
fingerprint cards through an authorized agency in their state of residence.

2. A list of authorized Live Scan locations can be found on the California DOJ

website. Applicants are responsible for paying the required Live Scan fee at the

time of fingerprinting.

FILE YOUR APPLICATION

A. License Application
1. Applicants must submit an initial application (REA 3001) form.

2. Applicants must use the REA 3002 form to report on the basic education courses.

B. Initial Trainee Application Fee
1. A total of $930.00 non-refundable fee must be submitted along with the

application. Dishonored checks will result in an extra $25 fee. Applicants must pay
the application fee via check or money order made payable to “the Bureau.”
The check should include the applicant’s full name and the type of fee being
paid (e.g. Initial Trainee Application fee).

2. Cash payments are NOT accepted for any type of licensing fee.

C. Application Status

Applicants may track the status of their applications using the Applicatfion Status tracker.



https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/doj_8016.pdf
https://oag.ca.gov/fingerprints/locations
https://oag.ca.gov/fingerprints/locations
https://www.brea.ca.gov/forms/rea_3001.pdf
https://brea.ca.gov/forms/REA_3002.pdf
https://www2.brea.ca.gov/breasearch/faces/party/searchApplication.xhtml
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